Sean Smith has been a performer since the age of 7, appearing alongside Marti Webb in the hit musical ‘Evita’, and Brian Blessed in ‘The Wizard of Oz’. Sean has performed in several pantomimes, including leading performances alongside Anita Dobson, Danny La Rue, Stephen Mulhern, Natasha Hamilton, and Lorraine Chase. He also had starring roles in tours of ‘Dancing Queen’, ‘Spirit of Broadway’, ‘Elvis-The King of Rock ‘n Roll’, ‘That’s Entertainment’ and ‘We Will Rock You’.

Sean was one half of ‘Same Difference’, who entered the fourth season of the UK reality TV show ‘The X Factor’, and were mentored by music mogul ‘Simon Cowell’. They reached the final, eventually finishing third out of 250,000 applicants.

In 2008 Same Difference embarked on the X Factor arena tour, playing packed arenas around the UK, and receiving enthusiastic critical reviews.

Following the X Factor tour, Same Difference went on to sign an album deal with Simon Cowell’s label, Syco. Their debut single ‘We R One’ shot into the ‘Top 20’, and was followed by the album ‘POP’, which has so far sold more than 220,000 copies, and been certified Gold in the UK.

After departing company with Syco, Same Difference released their second studio album ‘The Rest Is History’ to rave reviews, with leading track ‘Shine on Forever’ reaching #8 on the ‘UK Dance chart’; and the album hitting number #9 on the independent album chart, and #10 on the iTunes UK pop chart. To date, Same Difference’s record sales have amassed more than 300,000 units.

Sean signed to Energise records as a solo artist, and released his debut solo single ‘Turn Me On’ in September 2016. The single became the labels fastest selling physical single, and the music video amassed over 26,000 views in its first 3 weeks of release. The remix EP reached #15 on the UK iTunes dance chart. 


Sean released his second solo single ‘Magic’ in May 2017. The track reached number #29 on the UK iTunes dance singles chart and was the labels most streamed track of the year!  The music video was the labels most watched YouTube video of the year!

Sean’s third solo single ‘Fire’ was released in November 2017. The track reached number #4 on the UK iTunes vocal album chart and number #20 on the UK iTunes vocal singles chart.

Sean released ‘Verona’ a duet with Australian singer Peter Wilson on the 16th August 2018. The single was produced by Matt Pop and charted on the iTunes Charts in 12 Countries. The single also reached number 1 on the World Gay Music Chart.

Sean released the single ‘Do or Die’ on the 28th February 2019 and the track reached number #3 on the UK iTunes Vocal Singles Chart.

Sean was the lead vocalist on the ‘Beware The Bear’ track ‘Show Me Love’ which featured on the BBC2 drama ‘MotherFatherSon’. The single was released on the 23rd May 2019 through SP Music.

Sean released ‘Dirty Mirrors’ a duet with Ben Davidson through Energise Records on the 4th November 2019.


Sean’s debut solo album is set for release through Energise Records on the 20th July 2020.

© Sean Smith Solo 2020 | Designed by Studio 63